Student Leadership Academy Grads Recognized

Catawba Valley Community College recently recognized the eighth graduating class of its annual Student Leadership Academy.


Student Leadership Academy 2018

Fifteen students were selected for the Academy in the fall of 2018, and 12 of those students received their certificates of completion at a special Student Leadership Symposium held at the Crowne Plaza in Hickory.

The 2018 CVCC Student Leadership Academy Fellows include Dylan Adkins, Morganton; Eva Tillis Berisford, Lincolnton; Terry Bowman, Hickory; Jezzeriah Whitener, Hickory; Emma C. Neely, Hickory; Reeba Marshall, Hickory; Matthew Hinson, Denver; Savannah Brown, Hickory; Summer Walsh, Lenoir; Ean Swink; Hickory; Alexis Dimetry, Hickory and Sarah Jenks, Hickory.

Fellows experienced more than 30 hours of intensive leadership training and contributed more than 20 hours of service to CVCC. Co-directors Staci Wilson and Dean Robin Ross supervised the Student Leadership Academy.

Guest speakers for the Symposium included Dr. Grace Mitchell, president, Vadec Resources, Inc., Charlotte; and Robin Ross, Dean of CVCC’s School of Health and Public Services.  

Individuals serving on the Symposium’s leadership panel included Mr. Nat Auton, president and CEO, Catawba Valley YMCA; Cindy Coulter, dean, School of Access, Development, and Success, CVCC; Brice Melton, dean, School of Academics, Education, and Fine Arts, CVCC; Dr. Janet Painter, professor of education, Lenoir-Rhyne University; Jonathan Loss, Associate Dean, School of Academics, Education, and Fine Arts, CVCC; Mark Seaman, general manager, Hickory Crawdads; Mr. Michael Boone, department head of Mathematics, CVCC; and Summer Jenkins, Executive director of the Corner Table, Newton, NC.


# # #

Share This